Two Ashland Poetry Press Publications win IBPA Benjamin Franklin Awards in Poetry

April 14, 2015

Tancho, by J. David Cummings is the winner of the Independent Book Publishers Association 2015 Benjamin Franklin Award in poetry.  Cummings' first book, Tancho was the 2013 Richard Snyder Memorial Prize award winner, chosen by Alicia Ostriker. Through rich verse and haunting imagery, Cummings, a former theoretical physicist, documents and reflects on the world's first use of atomic weapons.  Read more about Tancho

Richard Jackson's Out of Place was also a finalist for the award and received a silver placing in the poetry category.  Out of Place was the third book Richard Jackson published with the Ashland Poetry Press and the tenth book of poems he has written.

Winners were announced on Friday, April 10 at the IBPA Awards presentation in Austin, Texas. The IBPA Benjamin Franklin Awards include fifty-five categories recognizing excellence in book editorial and design. They are regarded as one of the highest national honors for independent publishers. The awards are administered by the Independent Book Publishers Association (IBPA), with help from over 150 book publishing professionals including librarians, bookstore owners, reviewers, designers, publicity managers, and editors. 

Ashland Poetry Press is thrilled to have had two finalists in this prestigious competition! Congratulations to both of these fine authors and to everyone who contributed to the publication of these books. 

Comments (1) - Post a Comment
This article is filled with more than enough content, utmost valuable for a newbie in the field like me! Anyways, hearty regards.
best essay services at 2:11am EDT - August 21, 2017

Post A Comment

Name: (*Required)
Email: (*Required)
- Not Displayed With Comment

« Back to Blog

Newsletter Sign Up